Death of an Open-Wheel Champion

October 16, 2011 was an ominous day for open-wheel auto racing. Earlier in the day Sebastian Vettel had punctuated his second straight F1 driver championship with his tenth victory of the season, and Mark Webber’s podium finish ensured that Red Bull would also win its second manufacturer’s title. Attention turned across the Pacific to the final day of the IZOD IndyCar Series, as Dario Franchitti and Will Power were separated by just 18... Read More